The Suspect is ITV’s new thriller about one doctor’s dark secrets – and it’s coming this August

The Suspect is the upcoming ITV thriller from the makers of Vigil and Line Of Duty, starring Poldark’s Aidan Turner and Sian Clifford.

Fans of Line Of Duty and Vigil, we have some very good news for you.

Adding to its already stellar repertoire of British crime dramas that includes the likes of The TowerThe Long Call and Angela Black, ITV are bringing us a tense new psychological thriller series from the same producers of Jed Mercurio’s hit shows.

Poldark’s Aidan Turner will take a lead role as a doctor with a dark secret in The Suspect, a five-part drama based on Michael Robotham’s novel of the same name. We finally know when it’s set to land on our screens so here’s everything you need to know about The Suspect.

Aidan Turner in BBC’s period drama Poldark

You may also like

Platform 7: everything we know about ITV’s gripping new drama based on the bestselling novel by Louise Doughty

What is the plot of The Suspect?

As per Digital Spy, the series will follow Dr Joe O’Loughlin, a clinical psychologist who appears to have the perfect life – a devoted wife, a loving daughter, a successful career and a publishing deal. He even became a hero online after saving a young patient who was about to jump from the 10th floor of the hospital where he works.

When a young woman is found in a shallow grave in a west London cemetery, police officers investigate whether it was a suicide or a murder. Joe offers his expertise in the case despite a recent diagnosis with a debilitating illness.

ITV’s official synopsis continues: “As the investigation into Catherine’s death gathers pace, we start to ask, do we know the real Joe, or does he have a secret life? And has his work as a clinical psychologist allowed him to develop a criminal mindset? Or worse?”

Aidan Turner as Dr Joe O’Loughlin in The Suspect.

You may also like

ITV’s Maternal: this emotional new medical drama stars Parminder Nagra and The Split’s Lara Pulver

Speaking about the role, Turner said in an official statement: “I am thrilled to be taking on the complex and demanding role of Joseph O’Loughlin, a man with so much to give but so much to lose, and a hidden darker side.”

Fleabag’s Sian Clifford will star in ITV’s The Suspect.

Who will star in The Suspect?

Turner will be joined in the cast by Shaun Parkes (Small Axe), Sian Clifford (Fleabag), Camilla Beeput (Peep Show), Adam James (Vigil), Anjli Mohindra (Vigil, The Lazarus Project) and Bobby Schofield (Time).

Vigil’s Anjli Mohindra is starring in ITV’s The Suspect.

You may also like

ITV’s The Tower: Gemma Whelan’s grisly crime drama is officially returning for season 2

When will The Suspect be available to watch?

Filming took place in London last autumn and if you’ve been an eagle-eyed watcher of the channel, ITV has finally announced that the series will air in August. An exact release is yet to be confirmed but we’ll keep you updated.

The Suspect will air on ITV this August.

Images: Getty/ITV/BBC

Source: Read Full Article