Are M&S Percy Pigs vegan?
When Percy Pigs first appeared in M&S stores in 1992, the iconic piglets contained gelatine, a protein derived from animal skin and bones.
However, Marks & Spencer recently made the decision to permanently remove the ingredient from all versions of its sweet treat, making them all suitable for vegetarians.
And it has divided the nation.
Some people are outraged, while others praise the brand for its inclusive approach.
But what about vegans – will they also be able to enjoy Percy Pigs?
While the gelatine has been removed, Percy still contains beeswax.
What do M&S Percy Pigs contain?
- Glucose syrup
- Modified potato starch
- Modified tapioca starch
- Fruit juice from concentrate (3.5%): Apple, Mandarin, Elderberry
- Acids: Citric, malic, lactic
- Potato protein
- Fruit concentrates: Red grape, Elderberry
- Caramalised sugar syrup
It’s not just vegans that are missing out.
Percy Pigs also isn’t suitable for people with milk allergies, ‘due to manufacturing methods’.
Also, keep the product away from children under the age of 36 months, as it’s considered a ‘potential choking hazard’.
If you’re curious about whether the new Percy’s taste the same as the old ones, you’re in luck – we have done a taste test (and are just as divided as the rest of the nation).
MORE: People are outraged at Marks & Spencer because all Percy Pigs are now vegetarian
MORE: How to get up to £5 off your McDonald’s this week
MORE: No one is impressed by this ‘vegan lasagne’ which looks more like a stacked salad
The daily lifestyle email from Metro.co.uk.
Source: Read Full Article