New York Film Critics Circle awards 2018 winners list

On the heels of this week’s Gotham Awards and National Board of Review winners, the 2018 awards machine continues to churn out Oscar contenders as the New York Film Critics Circle announces its annual roster of winners.

EW will update this post throughout the day as the journalist collective unveils its full roster of year-end honorees, likely hoisting recipients into the Oscar conversation as awards season kicks into high gear.

While not a staunch reflector of Academy tastes (only two NYFCC best film winners have gone on to win best picture at the Oscars since 2008: The Hurt Locker, and The Artist), the NYFCC’s winners often reap a significant wave of industry buzz on the group’s pedestal. Thus, the NYFCC often reprioritizes respective contenders for non-critic guild voters deciding which films to watch as they sift through their growing pile of FYC screeners.

When it comes to Oscar crossover, each of the NYFCC’s best film victors since 2008 — save for 2015’s Carol — has received a corresponding Oscar nomination for best picture. Across the same 10-year frame, only two NYFCC best actress winners — Rachel Weisz (2012’s The Deep Blue Sea) and Sally Hawkins (Happy-Go-Lucky) — didn’t follow up with an Oscar nod. On the men’s side, the only NYFCC best actor champions over the last decade who didn’t receive an Oscar nomination occurred consecutively, when a three-year dry spell saw Robert Redford (All Is Lost), Timothy Spall (Mr. Turner), and Michael Keaton (Spotlight) emerging with NYFCC wins between 2013 and 2015.

Last year, only one of the NYFCC’s winners went on to win an Oscar in the Academy’s corresponding category: best animated feature champion Coco. Lady Bird took the group’s top honor en route to an eventual best picture nomination, though the Oscar ultimately went to Guillermo del Toro’s The Shape of Water, which walked away from the 2017 NYFCC ceremony empty-handed.

See the full list of the 2018 New York Film Critics Circle winners — updating live as they’re announced — below.

Best Film: 

Best Director: 

Best Actor: 

Best Actress: 

Best Supporting Actor:

Best Supporting Actress: 

Best Screenplay:

Best Cinematography: 

Best Foreign Language Film: Pawel Pawlikowski – Cold War

Best Documentary: Bing Liu – Minding the Gap

Best Animated Film: Bob Persichetti, Peter Ramsey, Rodney Rothman – Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse

Best First Film: Bo Burnham – Eighth Grade

Special Awards: David Schwartz, Kino Classics Box Set “Pioneers: First Women Filmmakers”

Source: Read Full Article